Adding network

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x

Adding network

Postby ly9cs » Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:12 pm

Here is my setup
FREESCO v0.4.3
FreeSCO on 192.168.100.1 and is the gateway to Internet.
And runs DHCP to serve all clients

And I also have 2 WiFI accesspoint. They have for sometime been working great. Now there is a some problem with one of them.
To solve this I want to add 2 nets to the environment.
I would like AP1 to have all wifi clients on 192.168.10.X but still have one leg the 192.168.100.X net. The AP will have 2 adresses 192.168.100.200 and 192.168.10.1.

I would like AP2 to have all wifi clients on 192.168.20.x but still have one leg the 192.168.100.X net. The AP will have 2 adresses 192.168.100.201 and 192.168.20.1.

I then I want all clients to have access via the Freesco Gateway.

Yes there is a router function in the AP

My question is what command do I need to enter in the Freesco box to make it understand that 192.168.10.1 and 192.168.20.1 exisit. And allso kindly ask freesco route the traffice to each device when needed.

Could it be "Route add -net ??????"
Command me, dark lords....
What are the commands......
ly9cs
 

Re: Adding network

Postby PurpleMeanie » Sat Feb 20, 2016 2:56 pm

Got some space for more network cards in the box? That the simple way of adding separate networks. Then you just attach the various WiFi access points to the relevant NICs.
User avatar
PurpleMeanie
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 10:05 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Adding network

Postby Lightning » Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:03 pm

Adding more network cards is one option, but it is only useful if the networks are physically seperated. For what it sounds like you are doing two virtual networks will be functional.

Go into the network setup and add another network with the subnet that you want. But for the network interface you will use something like eth1:0 which assumed the physical card connected is eth1 and the :0 is the first virtual network. Then for the second virtual network you can use eth1:1 with the other subnet parameters.

So you end up with something like this

eth1 192.168.100.1
eth1:0 192.168.10.1
eth1:1 192.168.20.1

Which are all the same physical card and you would use a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 for all of them. However be aware that you can only use the DHCP server for one of the networks.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to FREESCO Support for v0.4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron