Can't get it to boot without msdos

If you need some help, this should be the first place to look.

Postby reverland » Thu Jan 10, 2002 1:07 am

I have followed all the instructions at <a href="http://www.freescosoft.com/home/extra-info/tips-tricks/HDD_no_MSDOS.htm" target="_blank">http://www.freescosoft.com/home....DOS.htm</a> , then I verified the syslinux.cfg but everytime it says that it can't find the boot image. When I run syslinux it says that it can't be larger than 16k clusters, but it is running on a fat16 filesystem. Not even sure where I would change this if it the clusters aren't the right size. I am pulling at threads here, anyone help?
reverland
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2002 1:05 am
Location: Florida

Postby Lightning » Thu Jan 10, 2002 2:04 am

Serge wrote that artical a long time ago when some one asked if there was any way possible to run Freesco on a DOS drive without DOS installed. Unfortunatly the rest of the story is not in that artical which is that if you actually do it that way. Then if anything goes wrong in the Freesco file system you will have to boot your system with a DOS boot disk to repair it. My first choice would be to just make the drive DOS bootable and install Freesco. But if installing DOS is a real issue then my second choice would be to install an ext2 file system. Either way is a much better method than installing syslinux on a hard drive and then having no repaire options other than a floppy.
Lightning
 

Postby Kevin Linx » Thu Jan 10, 2002 3:34 am

go to
Booting from harddisk, without a dos or windows system - 2 Pages
<a href="http://64.177.11.181/cgi-bin/forum/UltraBoard.cgi?action=Read&BID=8&TID=12321&SID=84342<p>" target="_blank">http://64.177.11.181/cgi-bin....2<p>[b]</a> Running v0.2.7 from HDD without MSDOS - CJR
<a href="http://www.freesco.net/cgi-bin/forum/UltraBoard.cgi?action=Read&BID=5&TID=135&SID=90076<p>" target="_blank">http://www.freesco.net/cgi-bin....0076<p></a>
Kevin Linx
 

Postby reverland » Thu Jan 10, 2002 9:41 am

I am trying to learn as much linux as I can and i finally found a use for Linux that allowed me to have little knowledge of linux to get it running. So while I have a use for it I figured I would play with it. I am a complete newbie and can run rings around in a dos prompt but don't really know anything about a linux prompt, I am slowly getting there. How would make an ext2 file system, I am assuming some sort of fdisk like utility, and would this solve my issue of it not finding the kernel image?
reverland
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2002 1:05 am
Location: Florida


Return to FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron